New Lemur Species Discovered

Photo in the News: New Lemur Species Discovered

From the National Geographic:

You’re a good man, Microcebus lehilahytsara—quite literally. The German and Madagascan scientists who discovered the new lemur species named it for U.S. lemur expert Steve Goodman (“lehilahytsara” is Malagasy for “good man”). They announced the discovery of this and another new lemur species today.

Surprisingly, the scientists discovered Microcebus lehilahytsara not in some shrouded jungle but in one of the most studied rain forests on the African island of Madagascar. Then again, this good man is not much bigger than a big mouse, making Microcebus lehilahytsara all the more difficult to find.

About the size of a gray squirrel, the other new lemur species is also fairly wee, hence its name, Mirza zaza—”zaza” being Malagasy for “child.”…

The two new primate species are rare finds, bringing the total number of known lemur species to 49—all of which occur naturally only on Madagascar or the nearby Comoros islands. “

A different article from the BBC news website- dated August 2006.

4 Responses to New Lemur Species Discovered

  1. Diana says:

    Great blog. Cute Lemur–looks just like the tiny Lemur that was featured in the movie Madagascar! :)

  2. zaxy says:

    *huge grin* thanks so much! glad it’s going over well..

    i like lemurs, but really, i like the pure UNIQUENESS of the new species being found.. not much that’s mundane left out there! not only have we not seen it, but we haven’t even imagined it! i mean, REALLY! a lobster with HAIR?? a snake that changes colors?? crazy stuff. and hence, the name of the blog! :D

    Thanks again,
    ~Z
    zaxy.stumbleupon.com

  3. mauro says:

    a mi me gustan mucho los lemur y por eso me parecio interesante este blog y me doy cuenta de que no me equivoque al elegirlo hablo español pero voy a intentar traducirlo a ingles a si me entienden:

    to my I like much lemur and for that reason me parecio interesting east blog and I realize of which she does not mistake me when choosing I speak it Spanish but I am going to try to translate it to English to if they understand to me:

    MAURO

  4. a mi me gustan mucho los lemurs y por eso me parecio interesante esta pagina y ahora me doy cuenta de que no me equivoque al elegir este blog ya que es un excelente blog.
    hablo en español pero voy a tratar de traducir este mensaje asi me entendes:

    to my I like much lemurs and for that reason interesting me parecio this page and now I realize of which she does not mistake when choosing this blog since he is excellent blog.

    I speak in Spanish but I am going to try to translate this message therefore me entendes

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 86 other followers

